top of page

I Am Not My Hair: My Big Chop Experience


Not to start off in such cliche fashion, but in the words of Coco Chanel, "A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life!"

Truth be told, she might have been onto something.

For a good portion of my life, my hair was a big part of my personality in a sense. I've never had a perm or relaxer nor did I ever need to rely on weave to execute a hairstyle or particular look.

My cousin even went as far as to joke that if I cut my hair that she would disown me. (Thankfully she didn't!)

But I came home from college last summer and felt that I was in a place in my life where change was almost necessary. I let go of some toxic relationships, drew lines in the sand where I need to and so on.

I made it my business to keep the decision to myself because I knew that someone was going to try and talk me out of it and to be frank, it's not their head so not their call.

Most would not consider my hairstyling choice a "big chop" but for someone who had to look at 20 years worth of hair growth on the salon floor, it was as big of a step that I would take at the moment.

Over time I went shorter and right now is the shortest that I've ever had it.

To be honest, I kind like it.

All within a matter of a year, I've made bolder decisions, stepped out of my comfort zone, and found myself in situations that I would have never thought I'd be in (both good and bad.)

Who's to say that I won't grow my hair back out as the years go on. Lord knows I've had my days where I have regretted my decision especially on humid summer days like these.

But for now, I'm going to remain the sassy black girl with the pixie cut!

Have you gone through with the big chop? Thinking of taking the plunge?

Share your stories in the comment section below!

bottom of page