top of page

3 Things I Struggle With As A Blogger


I've been running the Cultural Wildchild full-time for almost a year and I still haven't found myself following a strict routine. When you try to search for how to run a successful blog, post often and consistently has found its way to the top of most lists.

I can honestly say that I was one of those people who was trying to find the hidden formula to success but I also had to take a hard look in the mirror and realize that I'm not perfect and I put a lot of pressure on myself to make sure that this site is the best that it can possibly be.

This morning, I sat down and identified what I would say are my three biggest factors that I find myself struggling with more often than not.

Time Management

There's a reason why I've branded myself as a cultural wild child. Sometimes I joke with people that I have the attention span of the dog in Up!

I can have the best intentions in the world of sitting myself down and creating new posts for you guys to enjoy but like any human, there are distractions.

My biggest vice: Social Media

Scrolling on Twitter, watching left or right on Tinder/Bumble and playing iPhone games can take my process of writing/editing new content from the traditional 1.5 hours to well over 3 or 4. Sometimes, I find myself on my phone until the sun goes down and when I look at my computer, I only have two sentences typed.

Using apps such as Toggl have really kept me on track in the past with notifications when they see that I'm idle for too long and not typing on my laptop. Talk about an accountability coach!

Motivation

If you've been paying close attention to my updates and publishing schedule, or lack thereof, you might have noticed that I have posted anything since October of last year!

I've been candid in the past about my struggles with depression and anxiety and I chalk my hiatus up as a casualty of that ongoing battle.

I wasn't finding myself where I wanted to be financially, career-wise or in terms of my blog so I decided to take a step back to try and enjoy the holidays with my family and work my primary job. Holiday hours in retail are no joke, especially when you're the one behind the register.

Nowadays, whenever I have an idea for new content, I write it down immediately. Whether it be in a journal or my notes app on my phone, I always make sure that it's not just a fleeting idea. I'm getting better so bear with me.

Coming up with consistent fresh content

As much as I would love to say that coming up with topics to write about is a breeze, I would be lying. One of the only advantages that I'd say that I have is the fact that I tackle a bunch of different topics.

Now that I'm launching my YouTube channel, it's only going to get more challenging but when have I ever shied away from a challenge? Since most of you don't know me very well, I'll answer for you: NEVER.

I'm optimistic about what's to come in the future and it will only go up from here!

If you're a blogger or content creator, drop some of the things that you struggle with in the comments below! Don't worry, this is a safe space.

bottom of page