top of page

#FallTag: 20 Random Facts About Me


As I look back at my first post for The Cultural Wildchild, it's hard to believe that I hit publish for the first time on March 1st of last year.

Fast forward to now and I am just now realizing that even though I have shared a story or two focusing intimate details about myself, I've never formally introduced myself.

So hey y'all, my name is Chelsea Renay and I am the founder and creator of The Cultural Wildchild! (& obviously that's me to the left ;) )

In celebration of my first Blogtober, I figured it would be fun to share 20 random facts about me since I'm always asking you guys to share details about yourselves.

Let's jump right in, shall we?

  • What's one thing you cannot leave the house without?

  • ​I am going to admit that I can't leave the house without my phone. Not only does it feel like I'm leaving the house without shoes but also there are group chats that I need to keep up with. I'm getting better with the phone addiction though thanks to apps on iPhone such as Screen Time.

  • Any phobias?

  • Clowns and wax people. Don't even bother to ask me to visit Madame Tussauds. You won't like my answer.

  • A YouTuber that has changed your way of thinking?

  • I stumbled onto Kalyn Nicholson's channel somewhere around September of last year trying to find videos on how to get organized and get my life together. She definitely has a unique outlook on life as she is free spirit but also runs her clothing line as well as just published her first book (Congratulations in order for sure!) We're definitely on the same track in life and watching her videos have helped me reconfigure my life while working on my brand and staying sane. You guys should definitely check her channel out!

  • Talk about your tattoos and/or piercings.

  • ​I have 3 tattoos each have their own special meaning. I have a puzzle piece on my forearm for my younger brother, EJ, who is on the autism spectrum, a side profile portrait of Egyptian queen Nefertiti on my ribcage and the Queen of Spades on my right wrist. Stepping into my queendom in full force if I do say so myself.

  • What's your favorite season and why?

  • ​We're actually in my favorite season right now! I tell people all the time, I thrive more in the last 3 months of the year. Not only do my outfits get cuter, television shows get better and there's just a special type of magic that comes out in fall.

  • What's a nickname that only your family calls you?

  • Now that I'm older, my family mostly just calls me Chels but when I was a kid, my parents and family members used to call me Chelsea Bop (and sometimes the variation Juicy Pop) because I was obsessed with the Baby Bop character on Barney. Juicy Pop came about because my younger cousins couldn't pronounce my actual nickname and the name kind of stuck. I highly don't recommend that anyone try to call me that now though because I won't answer.

  • Talk about a hobby you have.

  • Something that I found that I have a knack for since my freshman year of college was writing fiction novels. I can admit that I've gotten away from it to throw my all in The Cultural Wildchild but I hope I can juggle both and you will not only reading my words here but also buying my stories on Amazon or at Barnes & Noble if you like physical books.

  • Where's one place you would love to visit one day?

  • ​Santorini, Greece.

  • Who are your top 5 rappers/musicians at the moment?

  • ​J. Cole and Chance the Rapper will always have spots in my top 5 and the other three spots have to go to Cardi B, Russ, Ella Mai.

  • What's your idea of a perfect date?

  • I like to think outside of the box and do something other than a dinner and a movie. I've always wanted to go go-kart racing and grab a bite afterwards.

  • What's one of your fall fashion staple items?

  • ​Combat boots. You can dress them up or dress them down. I had them in multiple colors at one point, might need to get back to that.

  • What's one of your favorite quotes?

  • ​One that I heard on a webinar the other night that resonated with me especially at this point in the game was "Done is better than perfect." I'm a big perfectionist especially when it comes to this blog which in turn causes it to suffer with lack of content. Again, I'm working on it guys!

  • If you had a superpower, what would it be?

  • ​The ability to read minds, for sure.

  • Favorite movie?

  • ​Great Gatsby, both versions. (Yes, there is another version without Leo DiCaprio)

  • Favorite stores to shop at?

  • ​Old Navy, Forever 21, Charlotte Russe, SHEIN and Boohoo. Just in case anyone wants to get me a gift card to any store.

  • Celebrity crush?

  • ​Male: Dave East, Female: Toss up between Rihanna and Kehlani

  • Top 5 favorite YouTube channels

  • ​Raven Elyse, Kalyn Nicholson, Kristee Vetter, Remi Ashten, Sarah Rae Vargas #GirlPower

  • How did you come up with your blog name?

  • ​If you really take a look at the tabs along the top of the page and my Instagram feed, I am all over the place. There are a lot of different niches that interest me and I want to be able to talk about it. I'm all over the place hence The Cultural Wildchild was born!

  • Favorite podcasts

  • ​The Read and Black Girl Podcast are my top 2. I've been trying to expand my listening habits so I also listen to Jesus and Jollof by Yvonne Orji, of Insecure fame, and Luvvie, The Joe Budden Podcast and The Thick. Check them all out.

  • What are your career goals?

  • ​When I graduated with my BS in Radio and TV Production, I thought I knew what I wanted to do. However, that couldn't be any further from the truth. I'm leaning towards social media coordinating and public relations/promotions. I'm planning on kicking off that career once I enroll in graduate school in 2020.

Boom, 20 facts down and only a million more to go. I want my readers to feel like a little community and the only way that'll happen is if I get out of my own way and start sharing with the class too.

Now it's your turn!

You can either answer one of the above questions in the comments or tell me something most people wouldn't know about you.

bottom of page