top of page

I Stand With #HurtBae Because I Was Her


I’m sure by now; everybody’s seen the video that’s been floating around social media that started the hashtag, ‘HurtBae’. You probably screamed at the screen “Why didn’t you leave sooner?” or “Why did you let him treat you that way?” or you simply said “Nope, that couldn’t be me.” Of course, the natural reaction is to hate the guy that did it to her but I completely understand why she didn’t leave or more so why she couldn’t. I was #HurtBae before this was even a thing!

Her story of how she met her boyfriend is WAY more romantic than the way I met my guy. They met in college, in class (somewhat cute and innocent.) Meanwhile, I met my guy on Tinder (hold your judgment! Everyone’s tried it at least once!) Anyway, he seemed nice at first, very sweet, would send me cute text messages to wake up to etc. Everything seemed perfect. The only downside, I HADN’T SEEN HIM (Catfish scenario much? Joking, I did see him … eventually) Anyway, when I came home from school, I went to see him… blah, blah, skipping to the good part! So one night he wasn’t responding to my texts and I get on Snapchat to see him, walking around with some girl kissing on him, who he made me to believe was his best friend (Yeah, I believed him … I was in love. Sue me!) Turns out, this so-called “best friend” was his OTHER girlfriend that he had been dating for two years. My first reaction was to cry hysterically to the point that I was shaking. But once I gave myself a day or two to process things, I had a conversation with him and I made the decision to stay. Even though I loved him, I couldn’t trust him anymore. Neither could #HurtBae, whose name is really Kourtney if anyone is wondering so we can stop calling her by that annoying hashtag! She went through his phone and computer constantly but still stayed even though she didn’t trust him because SHE LOVED HIM! Yes, he is a horrible person because he cheated on her constantly without regret but she focused on the sweet things that he did for her and knew that deep down that he wasn’t a bad person. SAME HERE! But like Kourtney, I had to come to the realization that also he wasn’t a bad person, he wasn’t the right person for me. We shared things, personal issues, secrets that we didn’t feel comfortable enough to tell just anyone. It was different, he was different. But it wasn’t good. Granted, the way that this fool came at her, I’m pretty sure that I would catch a case if my ex was that blunt but you could see in her face that she truly loved this man. I was treated unfairly as was Kourtney but no one should take pity on us BUT no one should call us stupid because love will make you do some crazy things.

So to anyone who has found theirselves in mine and Kourtney's position, don't be afraid to leave. There is someone out there who will love you for you and you will be enough for them. Now for the ex that royally broke my heart, I don't hate you. I'm not your biggest fan but I know that you aren't a horrible person. We just met for a reason beyond our knowledge and there will always be memories of you that I will never forget.

bottom of page